K Logo.png
16 Aug 2022

SEMI-FINAL 1 CHESTER BH 203-2 (18.5 os) beat Grappenhall 202-5 (20) by 8 wkts Hosts Grappenhall made the most of winning the toss as, in front of a large, noisy crowd, they posted a massive score, 88 off 49 bs from Iain Wright the standout as he added 105 with Ben Clissold (43 off 27). But an explosive start to the Chester reply saw Ben Spaven (77 off 51) and Martin Green (68 off 35, right) add 118 in 10.2 overs for the 1st wkt, Matthew Griffiths keeping the momentum going as a crestfallen Grappers side saw the game run away, CBH winning in the 19th.

SEMI-FINAL 2 DIDSBURY 198-6 (20 os) beat Brooklands 141-8 (20) by 57 runs Didsbury openers Sam Youds (47 off 34) and Harry Rigby (left, 52 off 30) took a leaf out of the CBH book as the pair added 108 in the first 10 overs, Dids almost doubling their score in the second 10 with at least one boundary in 17 of the 20 overs they faced. Brooklands played their shots but the required rate was always too steep and the regular loss of wickets against a parsimonious Dids attack, who conceded just 3 extras, saw their excellent cup run come to an end.

FINAL DIDSBURY 168-9 (20 os) beat Chester BH 126-9 (20) by 42 runs A nip-and-tuck start saw Didsbury 54-3 after their powerplay, which became 89-5 at halfway as Harry Rigby continued his impressive form with another half century. Owen Griffiths kept momentum going as Dids finished on 168-9 and a still sizeable crowd pondered the outcome. However it was to be Didsbury who held their nerve, a superb opening burst seeing just 3 boundaries hit in the powerplay, CBH 28-2. Wickets continued to fall at regular intervals, CBH needing 106 off the last 10 with 7 wkts in hand. 18 runs came off the 15th over to renew their hopes but a stunning one handed catch by Rohan Aggarwal at long off was decisive, no further boundaries hit as Didsbury, who bowled just 1 wide and a no-ball (off what should have been the final delivery) were jubilant. A glorious day on Sunday saw three excellent games of highly competitive T20 cricket, with Didsbury 2s (left) making it back-to back Trophy triumphs after beating Premier Division leaders Chester BH by 42 runs in the final